sattelite drift

Staffing, insurance, vets, computers and software.
Post Reply
defender
Posts:1351
Joined:Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:58 pm
sattelite drift

Post by defender » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:47 pm

If I use a 750 with basic guidance to mark bad bits in some drains and don't need to go back to them for 5 years will satellite drift change where I have marked by any great distance or will it stay within a given distance ? . Busy repairing some poor work done 5 years ago and need to mark where other drains join in if I can
Thanks

graybo
Posts:7858
Joined:Sat May 16, 2009 11:21 pm
Location:beds

Re: sattelite drift

Post by graybo » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:13 pm

defender wrote:If I use a 750 with basic guidance to mark bad bits in some drains and don't need to go back to them for 5 years will satellite drift change where I have marked by any great distance or will it stay within a given distance ? . Busy repairing some poor work done 5 years ago and need to mark where other drains join in if I can
Thanks
It'll still be somewhere near, drift isn't accumulative, it can go one way one day and come back again the next.
No one can steer like this Ffuker.

defender
Posts:1351
Joined:Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: sattelite drift

Post by defender » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:36 pm

thanks graybo , That might make it easier if it needs doing again
The guy that tied in the old drains to the new pushed the pipes so far in to the new one that it all choked up , I want to mark the joins but hopefully repaired properly wont ever need them

defender
Posts:1351
Joined:Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: sattelite drift

Post by defender » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:32 pm

another question , I have fitted arial cables to 3 tractors and the sprayer and just wonder if there are screw on plugs that I can blank the end with to keep the weather and shit out ?
thanks

User avatar
Flintstone
Posts:4392
Joined:Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:33 pm
Location:E Herts

Re: sattelite drift

Post by Flintstone » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:55 pm

defender wrote:another question , I have fitted arial cables to 3 tractors and the sprayer and just wonder if there are screw on plugs that I can blank the end with to keep the weather and shit out ?
thanks
A blob of silicone?
Hold still, it's nearly in.

User avatar
Tel
Posts:3503
Joined:Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:45 pm

Re: sattelite drift

Post by Tel » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:11 pm

Flintstone wrote:
defender wrote:another question , I have fitted arial cables to 3 tractors and the sprayer and just wonder if there are screw on plugs that I can blank the end with to keep the weather and shit out ?
thanks
A blob of silicone?
What's wrong with tape

defender
Posts:1351
Joined:Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: sattelite drift

Post by defender » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:56 pm

silicone might be a job to clean out of the threads every time
tape would do the job if plugs not available

graybo
Posts:7858
Joined:Sat May 16, 2009 11:21 pm
Location:beds

Re: sattelite drift

Post by graybo » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:07 pm

Yes you can get screw on caps, not sure where from, :scratch: , couldn't find any
on RS components website.
We went through a phase of using them, just use tape now.
No one can steer like this Ffuker.

defender
Posts:1351
Joined:Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: sattelite drift

Post by defender » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:18 pm

thanks ,tape it will be then

graybo
Posts:7858
Joined:Sat May 16, 2009 11:21 pm
Location:beds

Re: sattelite drift

Post by graybo » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:28 pm

No one can steer like this Ffuker.

defender
Posts:1351
Joined:Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: sattelite drift

Post by defender » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:10 pm

thanks graybo ,will have to order when I next order from RS

Post Reply